DeutschEnglisch

Drawbridge

Not every beautiful, historically valued structure in a town can be maintained or reconstructed with public funds. The reconstruction of the Dömitz Fortress bridge within the framework of a renovation of Dömitz Fortress is one of these architectural structures that relies on support in the form of donations.

We need your help! Become a sponsor for the reconstruction of the Dömitz drawbridge. Support this architecturally valuable project – every donation helps!

Drawbridge

Drawbridges are always needed when ships, whose masts or chimneys are taller than the level of the Drawbridge, want to navigate waterways or when access to important buildings is to be protected. This protective function also applied to the drawbridge, built in 1865, leading to Dömitz Fortress. Its valuable services were in use for over 20 years yet historic records show that the fortress bridge was severely damaged in March 1888 by floods.

In 1902 the bridge was demolished and replaced by a dam. The reconstruction of the fortress bridge of 1865 is an important part of the architectural heritage in the renovation plans for Dömitz Fortress. After completion of the planning phase, already set to commence this year, construction is scheduled to start in 2010.

Main entrance to fortress Main entrance to fortress, the drawbridge is to be erected in place of the earthen wall.

DeutschEnglisch

Zugbrücke

Nicht jedes schöne, historisch wertvolle Objekt in einer Stadt kann mit Hilfe öffentlicher Mittel erhalten oder rekonstruiert werden. Die Wiederherstellung der Festungsbrücke in Dömitz im Rahmen der Sanierung der Festung Dömitz ist eines der Objekte, das auf die Unterstützung von Spendern angewiesen ist.

Ihr Engagement ist gefragt! Werden Sie Sponsor des Wiederaufbaus der Zugbrücke Dömitz. Unterstützen Sie dieses architektonisch so wertvolle Projekt – jede Spende hilft!

Zugbrücke

Zugbrücken werden immer dann gebraucht, wenn Schiffe ein Gewässer durchfahren wollen, deren Mast oder Schornstein über die Ebene der Brückenbahn hinausragt oder um den Zugang zu einem wichtigen Gebäude zu schützen. Die Schutzfunktion galt auch für die 1865 erbaute Zugbrücke, die zur Festung Dömitz führte. Mehr als 20 Jahre leistete sie wertvolle Dienste. Historische Aufzeichnungen belegen jedoch, dass die Festungsbrücke im März 1888 bei einem schweren Hochwasser beschädigt wurde.

1902 wurde die Brücke daraufhin abgerissen und durch einen Damm ersetzt. Der Wiederaufbau der Festungsbrücke von 1865 ist ein bauhistorisch besonders wichtiger Teil im Sanierungsvorhaben Festung Dömitz. Nach der Planungsphase, die noch in diesem Jahr beginnt, ist der Baustart für 2010 vorgesehen.

Haupteingang zur Festung Haupteingang zur Festung, anstatt des Erdwalls soll die
Zugbrücke errichtet werden.